Early Career Network

The UKSBM Early Career Network (ECN) is an initiative to facilitate the development and promotion of research opportunities, mentoring and training for students and early career members in the UK who have an interest in behavioural medicine. We are affiliated with INSPIRE, the early career network of the International Society of Behavioural Medicine.

We run early career member events at the national UKSBM Annual Scientific Meeting, and a number of social and networking events to foster conversation between early career members and with leaders in the field of behavioural medicine. We organise online events for research dissemination, and jointly host webinars with ISBNPA and ISPAH. We also feature regular updates in the UKSBM newsletter and have an active profile on Twitter.

We greatly welcome any input, ideas or offers to get involved and help us evolve so feel free to get in touch. To join the ECN, UKSBM members can opt-in to our mailing list and follow us on Twitter to hear about the latest events and activities. For any enquiries, email ECN Co-chairs Martin Lamb (m.lamb@shu.ac.uk) or Jessica Leather (jessica.leather@manchester.ac.uk).

Committee Members

Jessica Leather

Jessica Leather, Co-chair

Research Associate

Greater Manchester Patient Safety Translational Research Centre, University of Manchester


Martin Lamb

Dr Martin Lamb, Co-chair

Research Fellow

Centre for Behavioural Science & Applied Psychology, Sheffield Hallam University



Dr Sofia Strommer, Past Chair

Behavioural Scientist



Kiu Sum

Kiu Sum, Communications Officer

Doctoral Student

Life Sciences, University of Westminster


Khaleda Ahmadyar, Membership Secretary

PhD Researcher

Department of Psychology, City, University of London


Sophie Green, Events Officer

PhD Student/Research Assistant

Leeds Institute of Health Sciences, University of Leeds


Dr Lauren Matheson, General Secretary

Research Fellow

Oxford Brookes University

UKSBM ECN alumni

Chris Keyworth, University of Manchester

Nia Coupe, University of Liverpool

Illaria Pina, University of Stirling

Mei Yee Tang, Newcastle University

Grace McCutchan, Cardiff University

Ben Ainsworth, University of Bath

Emma Brown, Leeds Beckett University

Mandeep Sekhon, King’s College London

Ellinor Olander, City University of London

Gareth Hollands, Cambridge University

Kieran Ayling, University of Nottingham

Claire Easthall, University of Leeds

Anna Chisholm, University of Liverpool

Ruth Baxter, University of Leeds

Abigail Albutt, University of Leeds

Laura Lamming, University of Bradford

Rachel Carey, University College London

Emma Davies, Oxford Brooks University

Jake Crawshaw, King’s College London

Emma Norris, University College London

Ainslea Cross, University of Derby